Part 3 – Exercise 6: Photomontage

For this exercise you are going to make a montage or collage with a political message. Collect images from newspapers, magazines, your own photographs or images online.  Create new meanings out of these extant images by juxtaposing and contrasting them. Be imaginative, playful, provocative or humourous. In your learning log reflect on the original meaning of the images and your subsequent collage. Write a short evaluative statement.

Choosing an Issue

I started this exercise, first by considering political issues that interested me and that I thought would be good subjects for a photomontage.

I decided to explore the issue of victim blaming for my montage. ‘Victim blaming’ is where the victim of a crime or an assault is considered to be partially or wholly responsible for what has happened to them. It is a term very commonly directed at women who have been assaulted or raped – typically the woman’s behaviour, what she was wearing or the fact that she might have been drinking, are regarded as contributing factor towards the assault.  It is a subject I am quite interested in and which has been raised in the media quite a lot recently.

I began by reading around the subject and assessing my thoughts and feelings on the topic. I created a mind map to document my general thoughts and added in some images to help me start thinking in terms of a photomontage.

Before I started this analysis, I thought I was very clear about what ‘victim blaming’ was but I found this mind mapping exercise very useful in revealing that my understanding of victim blaming was quite mixed up with other closely related issues such as objectification of women, male entitlement and the question of what constitutes consent. I spent quite a lot of time really picking apart my thoughts here, which proved extremely valuable in helping me to get a very clear idea of what ‘victim blaming’ actually was. Having a really clear understanding of the issue, helped me to devise a clear message about this issue for my montage.

Once I had a clarified in my own mind,  what ‘victim blaming’ was, I created another mind map, analysing this specific issue in greater detail – what it is, who does it, why people do it etc.

Devising the Message

My next step was to decide on the statement I wanted my photomontage to make. My more detailed analysis of the victim blaming issue resulted in a number of possibilities:

  • Women actually have a very precarious position in our liberal society. They are very much ‘free’ to do what they want, but if something goes wrong and they are assaulted, their ‘immoral behaviour’ will be blamed.

 

  • Is victim blaming a symptom of society’s inherent desire to control women’s behaviour? Society (begrudgingly) allows women their freedom but is quick to blame their ‘immoral’ behaviour if women are attacked.

 

  • It is easier to blame the victim than the face up to the fact that we live in a culture where women are devalued and objectified (known as the “just world” hypothesis).

 

  • Women are told to adjust their behaviour in order to avoid being attacked (rather than telling the attackers not to attack).

 

  • It’s easy to make judgements on a woman’s moral behaviour and blame her for an assault. It is much harder to blame the victim in other crimes such as a mugging.

I decided to use the last idea as the basis for the message of my photomontage.  I wanted to highlight how incongruous it was to accuse the victim for being responsible for the crime against them.

Depicting the message

Next I needed a way to illustrate this message in my montage. I began with an idea of showing innocent women enjoying themselves and having fun, with accusers and victim-blamers in the background or in the shadows ‘pointing the finger’ of blame at them. My idea was to show how precarious a woman’s situation was and how easily they could flip from becoming a victim of an assault to becoming the accused.

I then tried another idea, instead of the innocent young women, I wanted to show a victim of crime that you would not think to blame for what happened to them. I chose an image of an elderly woman who had been assaulted in her home, now with the accusers pointing the finger of blame at her. I felt that this image had more emotional impact and better highlighted how wrong it is to blame a victim for their assault.

Reviewing the Ideas

I reviewed the ideas for the montage with my husband. He agreed that the concept of victim-blaming the elderly woman had the clearest and most impactful message.

The Final Photomontage

The final photomontage is below:

Reflection on the Photomontage

The photomontage shows an 88 year old woman who was brutally assualted as she slept in her bed, by a man who had broken into her home. The image is heart-breaking as the woman looks so vulnerable, frail and broken. Society would not dream of blaming her for being attacked, and would not think to ask her what she might have been wearing at the time of the assault or whether, whether she had been drinking or if she might have somehow encouraged her attacker. However younger woman are often subjected to this sort of ‘victim-blaming’ if unfortunate enough to have been assaulted.

The figures in the background of the image represent the victim-blamers of society and  are people who have recently been in the news, accused of victim blaming, these are Judge Lindsay Kushner QC who stated that women who got drunk where making themselves a target for rapists, Henriette Reker – the mayor of Cologne who suggested that young women should adopt a ‘code of conduct’ to prevent assault, and Richards Littlejohn and Sarah Vine who are columnists for the Daily Mail.

The words in the montage are cut out from a copy of the Daily Mail – a newspaper regularly accused of sexism and victim-blaming.  They are put together in the style of an anonymous ransom note to give a threatening and accusatory feel.

The predominant colour of the image is red for it’s ominous, threatening and dangerous connotations. In addition, red, black and white are colours associated with tabloid newspapers which are often guilty of victim blaming.

Thoughts on this Exercise

I was quite pleased with the way my montage had turned out as I thought that the statement I was making was clear and impactful. I found the process of analysing my thoughts on the issue, very interesting, as I realised I wasn’t quite as clear on what victim-blaming was, as I thought I was and it took me quite a long time and quite a lot of reading around the subject, to get my ideas clear in my head.

My only disappointment with my final photomontage was that the design didn’t feel very original. I feel like I have seen this kind of photomontage design many times before.

I think I need to devote a bit less time to the ‘what’ I am doing, and try focus more, and be a bit more experimental, with the ‘how’.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

