Assignment 2 – Thoughts

I started out on this assignment thinking it was going to be quite a straight forward task – designing greetings cards did not sound like it was going to be too difficult! However, it turned out to be quite a labour of love!

Most of the effort involved in creating these cards actually went into researching who my cards should be for, researching my chosen audience (the morris dancers) and thinking of ideas for the cards themselves.

It was surprisingly difficult to understand enough about a target group to make a series of cards that would resonate with and be meaningful to that group. I was fortunate in that I had access to a small group of morris dancers who were able to explain the morris community to me, suggest ideas for cards and critique what I had done. This would have been a very difficult exercise without the input of this group.

Also, printing is a black art that requires infinite patience.

Leave a Reply

